Brides Who Bachelorette

7 Nov

A few nights ago I was talking with my handsome groom when the conversation turned from bouquet to bachelor party. Although JB was painfully patient while reviewing color schemes for napkins and tablecloths, I could tell the wedding wheels were spinning in a different direction. He had started brainstorming bachelor party destinations, all of which sounded less like a party and more like a friendly episode of Survivor. As I began to discuss the recovery I would need from a potential glamping trip, JB politely reminded me that I was not invited.

Call me crazy, but I briefly contemplated being that couple, the one that just can’t resist a joint bachelor/bachelorette party. I have never been a believer in the tradition of setting the bride and groom free for one “last night of freedom.” Why not combine the celebrations? Regardless of my perspective, the couples party was politely vetoed both by my fiancé and my bridesmaids.

unnamed-1 copy

Remember this couple from Bridesmaids? Kevin and Becca went on a “sweetheart honeymoon.” I bet they also combined the bachelor and bachelorette. #MostAnnoyingCouple

And so, after coming to terms with the reality of my bachelorette, my own wheels started to spin. Perhaps, while all of JB’s favorite buddies shivered somewhere with tents and a campfire, the ladies could sunbathe somewhere with poolside chairs and a jacuzzi? Suddenly, the theme of my bachelorette began to feel more like Prada and less like Patagonia.

Below are a few tips for brides who are beginning to brainstorm for their bachelorette in the midst of wedding planning…

Get your top gals on the map.

Start by creating your ideal list of female attendees. Although less daunting than the wedding list, there are a few factors to keep in mind such as travel. I will need to help select a destination for friends and family to meet since they are all over the map: Nashville, New York City, California, Washington DC, and New Jersey (not to mention the bride in Savannah). If your girlfriends, like mine, are near and far, I suggest making a list of each pretty face with their contact information. After you invite a few more than you anticipate will commit, set the final list into the hands of your trusted bridesmaids. Your work is almost complete.

Brainstorm potential activities.

I recently watched a short clip on The Knot where two editors discussed various bachelorette activities. One woman brought up the possibility of running a 5K with the bride and her crew. Another suggested arranging an acrobatic class to tighten and tone those muscles that just might show in the bride’s wedding dress.

unnamed-1

In the spirit of the Kardashian sisters, perhaps my bachelorette buddies could help me “get it tight” before the wedding?

Although there are a few impressively athletic gals in my circle, I have decided to reserve all cardio for purposes of couture.

ab36b5337bdfe14f40e8186de071a812

Set some boundaries or the bride could be running a marathon.

Photo credit: http://www.pinterest.com/pin/17592254766961728/

Let the Ladies know your limits.

My ideal bachelorette party would take place in a warm, sun filled location such as Miami with plenty of tanning, spa treatments, shopping, and delicious food. Clearly there are a few traditional aspects of the party missing from my vision. If certain brides wish to attend a PG bachelorette party, make sure to speak up.

With that said, what bride wants to police their own party? #DontBeTooLame

Definitely, leave your other half at home.

Since the days of college, I have learned how extremely challenging it can be to gather your favorite girlfriends for a weekend of laughter and memories. Let your bachelorette facilitate a girls reunion. Don’t complicate the plan with your main man, or any men for that matter. I can already picture my girlfriends bundled in hotel robes, laughing, snacking and blushing in embarrassment over a few rounds of “never have I ever.”

Eventually, stop ruining all the fun.

Here’s the biggest piece of advice for brides: devote your energy to the wedding, allowing all events leading up to the big day to unfold as they may. Bask in the excitement of an unknown bachelorette itinerary, with the confidence that you are in the hands of your best friends. Also, in case brides were wondering, that Vegas rule applies to any bachelorette location.

..MjAxMi0zZjBkOTQ0N2M5NjdiMzA1

.stays in Miami, even when the bride returns to Savannah.

Leave a comment