Have I Mentioned Extensions?

7 Mar

…probably.

A few days after my makeup trial, I stopped by salon Eiji for a brief hair consultation. Brides-to-be will quickly learn that there are multiple components to the wedding day glam plan. Everything bridal pertaining to beauty is a process. In my opinion, a bride’s makeup shouldn’t stray far from her everyday routine (just less blemish and more glow). Although I wouldn’t dare attend my wedding without makeup, I have found that too much can backfire. Can you imagine the groom removing your veil and not recognizing his bride? In the case of beauty care, it’s less about quantity and all about quality.

Luckily, the stylists I have met in the makeup and hair departments consider maintenance on locks, lashes and all things cosmetic to be labors of love. They work hard to strike the right balance between beauty from a jar and beauty that is natural to every bride.

My hair trial is scheduled for my next trip home in April. I have already ordered my extensions since my salon requires three months to locate the preferred type of hair and match the color accordingly. After attending my first fitting (see Monday’s post), the stylists at Kleinfeld reminded me to consider the cut of my dress before transforming into a life size Rapunzel. Since my Pnina is essentially backless, covering the entirety of my back with long, flowing locks may hide the features of my gown. Point well taken, Kleinfeld.

As a result, I have shifted the focus of my hair from maximizing length to volume.

Depending on the current thickness and style of your hair, extensions are worth consideration. After attending the pre-consultation with the stylists at Eiji, I have decided to order clip-in extensions rather than those that are bonded. A more permanent option has the potential to last a bride anywhere from three to six months (well into the newly married months as a Mrs.). Although the thought of long, cascading hair during my honeymoon is thrilling, I’m not quite ready to marry the maintenance.

unnamed-2

My potential length clipped in, just for fun.

Lastly, I have a few thoughts on elevating bridal extensions. If brides have a special design on their dress, whether a pattern or embellishment with dimensions, I recommend speaking to the designer for hair inspiration. Although wearing a veil is traditional, I believe brides should have at least one element that is avant-garde. You’ll have plenty of married days to dress with simplicity.

482bc4a1720266a9201dae445fd1dc57

Romantic curls with dripping pearls- thoughts on this combination? (I love).

Photo credit: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/44684221277160242/

If brides are interested in extensions and want further information on the various types available, take a look at the article below from the Bridal Guide:

http://www.bridalguide.com/beauty-fitness/hairstyles/hair-extensions-for-wedding

~Happy extending!~

Leave a Reply

