Engaged in 2013, Married in 2015!

2 Jan

As New Year’s Eve approached this past Wednesday, I knew sparkly moments were in full force. Two sets of close friends became engaged. Bonus- one of the newly engaged men will be in JB’s wedding party!

It truly is the most wonderful time of the year, particularly for bride and grooms-to-be.

Since 2015 is the year I will marry my love, I have decided to declare two New Year’s resolutions as they relate to my ongoing dialogue with Posh Petal and Pearl readers. Since my engagement, I have made some difficult geographical and bridal decisions. Here’s to a fresh start for all brides-to-be just in time to say “I Do.”

unnamed-6

Kissing 2013 and 2014 goodbye as a fiancé…also, here’s to no more bridezilla.

Resolution One: Embrace the possibility that “Distance makes the heart grow fonder.”

I never realized the challenges of planning a New Jersey wedding from the South. As a newly engaged gal, I packed up my belongings and journeyed with my fiancé to Georgia in search of a new home, job and community while simultaneously planning our wedding. Multitasking is hard enough when you’re in one place.

At first the flights and fourteen hour car rides home seemed impossible. I was used to hopping on a thirty minute train to my parents home without much thought. Now, with only a handful of months left until the big day I have finally learned to let the distance work in my favor. I countdown to homecoming hugs and bridal appointments with my amazing mother, who also happens to be the most posh wedding planner. I have booked numerous flights home before the big day, and in the New Year I promise to make each one memorable, adventurous and worth the recap.

Resolution Two: As hard as it may seem, “Let the petals fall where they may.”

2014 was filled with far too much analyzing and not enough trust in those who eat, sleep and breathe weddings. Over the holidays, I called Kleinfeld Bridal’s customer service hoping my dress would miraculously arrive early from Israel. Although I chose the winning dress, I was no expert on the bridal timeline considering my gown is scheduled to arrive in March, not December.

Also, in preparation for my makeup trial this coming February I began to gather a handful of old pictures in an attempt to highlight my most memorable makeup mistakes. In honor of the New Year, I have decided to focus on what I admire most from other brides who have mastered the natural look, rather than play fashion police with myself. Every bride-to-be should know that negativity does not carry over well into the New Year.

In 2015, although quite reluctantly, I have decided to let the pilot take the steering wheel, at least until my feet hit the ground. My time in between the clouds will be reserved for dreaming of my walk down the aisle and losing my restless thoughts in the pretty pages of bridal magazines. I know the distance between myself and my family is temporary, and I look forward to June 20, 2015 when all of our loved ones can share in the happiness of the wedding day. As much as I would love to place every petal down the aisle toward my groom to ensure perfection, I know the best planning comes with a little bit of faith and excitement in the unknown. Some petals will wander. In the meantime, I can focus on the one promise that 2015 has in store: Marriage!

~Written with a heartfelt congratulations to two newly engaged couples, Liz and Mike and Erika and Eric. Let the planning begin!

Leave a Reply

